A collection of restaurant related news from all over South Africa

Finding SA's Best Steakhouse in 2015

04 May 2015

  • The Wolftrap Steakhouse Championships logo for 2015

The Wolftrap Steakhouse Championships is again hunting down South Africa's greatest steakhouse to find our national champion for 2015!

The first round is a public voting phase and it starts on the 1st April – this is when anyone can go to and vote for their favourite – there are cases of The Wolftrap wine to be won just for voting. You can also vote by SMS’ing the name of your favourite steakhouse and where it is situated, with your name, to “32845”.

Then, at the end of May 2015, the final twenty steakhouses will go into the judges’ round – a steak show-down during which our team of expert judges, led by Pete Goffe-Wood, well-known Masterchef judge, will visit the top 20 to trim the field. The steakhouses don't know when the judges will arrive and each will be assessed on a score-sheet that's designed to separate the good from the great – looking at the total experience but focussing on the quality of the steak.

The ultimate steakhouse winner will be announced in late June 2015… and to the winner the bragging rights of being South Africa's Best Steakhouse for 2015!

Steak is a South African passion and the steakhouse is our favourite national restaurant. You can participate today, visit now or find SteakHunter on Facebook and Twitter.

How The Wolftrap Steakhouse Championships Works

Open Round:
The public votes for their favourite steakhouses are gathered during April and May 2015. All voting takes place on the website and by SMS to the shortcode “32845”.

Announcement of Finalists:
At the end of May 2015, the top 20 as voted for by the public, go into the judges’ round.

Finals – The Steak-Off:
In June 2015, the Final 20 are visited by the judges. During the Steak-Off, the judges will assess the performance of the steakhouse.

Announcement of Steakhouse Champion:
In June 2015, the grand winner of the Steakhouse Championship 2015 will be announced at a media event held at last year’s winner, The Local Grill in Parktown North.

The Judges:
Head judge is Pete Goffe-Wood, assisted by regional experts.